A fresh new year and a fresh new Boston City Council! On Monday, the city councilors – including a new president – were sworn in, complete with four new members! 

Boston City Council-at Large:

Ruthzee Louijeune

Erin Murphy

Julia Mejia

Henry Santana

District 1 – Gabriela Coletta

District 2 – Ed Flynn

District 3 – John Fitzgerald

District 4 – Brian Worrell

District 5 – Enrique Pepen

District 6 – Benjamin Weber

District 7 – Tania Fernades Anderson

District 8 – Sharon Durkan

District 9 – Liz Breadon

Returning City Councilor-at-Large Ruthzee Louijeune is the new city council president with a 13-0 vote in favor of the new position!  Former City Council President Ed Flynn will be continuing on as District 2 city councilor. 

Louijeune is the third Black woman and first Haitian-American to serve in the role. 

The next city council meeting of 2024 will take place on Wednesday, January 10th at 12pm. You can livestream it by visiting here! 

Leave A Comment